The Shaping of Power, Rights, and Rule in Cyberspace Ronald Deibert, John Palfrey, Rafal Rohozinski, and Jonathan Zittrain, editors The MIT Press

Access Controlled

Cambridge, Massachusetts

London, England

© 2010 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced in any form by any electronic or mechanical means (including photocopying, recording, or information storage and retrieval) without permission in writing from the publisher.

For information about special quantity discounts, please email special_sales@mitpress.mit.edu

This book was set in Stone Serif and Stone Sans on 3B2 by Asco Typesetters, Hong Kong.

Printed and bound in the United States of America.

Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data

Access controlled : the shaping of power, rights, and rule in cyberspace / edited by Ronald Deibert . . . [et al.] ; foreword by Miklos Haraszti.

p. cm. — (Information revolution and global politics)

Report from the OpenNet Initiative.

Includes bibliographical references and index.

ISBN 978-0-262-01434-2 (hardcover : alk. paper) — ISBN 978-0-262-51435-4 (pbk. : alk. paper)

1. Cyberspace—Government policy. 2. Internet—Government policy. 3. Computers—Access control. 4. Internet—Censorship. I. Deibert, Ronald. II. OpenNet Initiative.

HM851.A254 2010

005.8—dc22 2009049632

10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Acknowledgments

The OpenNet Initiative would not exist without the vital contributions of dozens of very talented and often courageous researchers from around the world. The ONI's regional deputies primarily wrote the country profiles and regional overviews: Vesselina Haralampieva (CIS/Europe), Helmi Noman (Middle East and North Africa), and Stephanie Wang (Asia). Masashi Crete-Nishihata (Citizen Lab), provided invaluable written and editorial inputs to the entire book. Jillian York, Rebekah Heacock, and Robert Faris (Berkman) provided editorial input and writing assistance for the country profiles and regional overviews. Other written contributions were made by Fabian Pregel (Germany), Andrea Glorioso (Italy), Sangamitra Ramachander (Europe Overview), Brendan Ballou (Europe Overview), Amina Waheed (Europe Overview, Middle East and North Africa), Natalie Senst (Australia and New Zealand), Dan Larsen (Nordic Overview), Jessica Walch (France).

Robert Faris and Jillian York help to manage the ONI research enterprise on an ongoing basis. Their professional stewardship keeps the ONI on track. Primary research in the CIS was conducted in partnership with the Eurasia i-Policy network and coordinated by Tattugul Mambetalieva. Technical support for testing in the region was provided by Aleksei Bebinov (Civil Initiative for Internet policy, Kyrgyzstan). Jonathan Doda (Citizen Lab) acted as the lead technical engineer and analyst for the ONI in 2008 and 2009; Shishir Nagaraja (Cambridge) did the same in 2007. Jane Gowan (Citizen Lab) designed the cover art for *Access Controlled*, and provided additional design input to the ONI project.

The ONI would like to acknowledge the contributions of the ONI Asia group, and in particular the regional coordinators, Francois Fortier and Al Alegre, the project manager Deirdre Collings, and research assistants Arnav Marchanda and Antoine Nouvet. The ONI is grateful to the University of Amsterdam Digital Methods Team, especially Professor Richard Rogers, Erik Borra, Esther Weltevrede, and Anat Ben-David for participating in the ONI's April 2009 analysis workshop at the Citizen Lab.

The ONI is grateful to MIT Press: William Drake, Ernest Wilson III, Marguerite Avery, and Ellen Sklar.

xii Acknowledgments

The Citizen Lab would like to thank Laird Brown, Francois Cadieux, Sarah Boland, Jessica Daggers, Jakub Dalek, Sahar Golshan, Robert Guerra, Gus Hosein, Michael Hull, Dylan Jones, Andrej Karpathy, Elana Koren, Lucinda Li, Daniel Lister, Jamie Liu, Rebecca Mackinnon, Margaret McKone, Kay Nguyen, David Naylor, Palantir Technologies, Psiphon, Inc., Wilhelmina Peter, Janice Stein, James Tay, Jeremy Vernon, Nart Villeneuve, and Greg Walton.

The Berkman Center would like to thank Nagib AlHadi, Renata Avila, Catherine Bracy, Andrea Calderaro, Rafik Dammak, J. C. DeMartin, Zsuzsa Detrekői, Alexey Dolinskiy, Eric Fish, Charles Frentz, Effi Fuks, Urs Gasser, Joshua Goldstein, Cicek Gurkan, Sanjana Hattotuwa, Eric Johnson, Ismael Kahtan, Mohamed Keita, Colin Maclay, Ladan Mahabadi, Persephone Miel, Katitza Rodriguez Pereda, Elfine Peterson, Daniel Rosenberg, Anas Qtiesh, Amin Sabeti, Zinta Saulkalns, Gbenga Sesan, Chris Soghoian, Firuzeh Shookoh Valle, Kanupriya Tehawari, Shiham Thabreez, Kate von Achen, Sally Walkerman, Seth Young, Ethan Zuckerman, Yushu Zhou.

The SecDev Group would like to thank the Eurasia i-Policy Network who carried out the primary field research and technical testing in the CIS, and who prepared country situation reports upon which the country profiles in this volume are based: Emin Akhundov (Azerbaijan), Asmudin Atoev (Tajikstan), Galiya Baltina (Kazakhstan), Aleksandra Belyaeva (Citizen's Initiative for Internet Policy – Russia), Vadim Dryganov (Belarus), Movses Hakobyan (Internews Centre for Law and Policy – Armenia), Parvina Ibodova (Tajikistan), Igor Kozachkov (technical contributor – Ukraine), Nino Kuntseva-Gabashvili (Business Intelligence and Valuation Group (BVG), Ltd – Georgia), Aleksei Marchuk (Informational Policy Institute – Russia), Andrei Marusov (Ukraine), Pervin Pavel, ("Microtest", technical contributor – Russia), Andrei Pazuk (Ukraine), and Zviad Sulaberidze (Georgia).

The ONI is very grateful for financial support from the following institutions: The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, The International Development Research Centre (Canada), and the Donner Canada Foundation.

Production of this volume was made possible through the generous support of the Office of the Representative on Freedom of the Media Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

The ONI would like to especially acknowledge numerous researchers and contributors to our research and other activities who have chosen to remain anonymous. We dedicate this volume to their courage.